Melbourne City FC commenced its inaugural Westfield W-League campaign in October 2015, after Football Federation Australia confirmed the Club’s application for entry into the women’s domestic competition in May 2015.

In their first season, the team had a 100% record, winning 12 consecutive league matches and clinching the Premier’s Plate and securing an historic double, winning the 2016 Grand Final.

In 2017, City became the first team in Westfield W-League history to win back-to-back championships after defeating Perth Glory 2-0 in the 2016-17 Grand Final, and 2018 they did the 'three-peat', winning their third consecutive Championship in front of a then-record 6,000 fans in Sydney.

The W-League team is based in the Academy Wing of the City Football Academy Melbourne, which was launched in November 2016.